Thinking Out Loud: Typical *Bleep*, etc.

Stumbled upon this on my feeds yesterday. Seriously, I see something wrong here. I’m not gonna try to make a big deal here, but I want to point it out.

First, some background on this: Mr. E is a Filipino (by birth and blood) who is now based in the USA. Both Mr. A and Mr. S are in the Philippines. Mr. S is older than Mr. A, who is the same age with Mr. E.

For the sake of those who do not understand Filipino, comment #4 literally translates to, “^haha, need to cuss? :)”

First of all, it seems that Mr. E (as conveyed in comment #1) has not read the article that was posted. Basically, the article just talks about President Aquino receiving the iPhone 4S first from Globe Telecom. It’s not a big deal really, but Mr. A had to point it out in comment #2.

I don’t see anything funny here. I don’t feel anything regarding the article either. I do not know how Mr. E sees it that it seems so funny. Because he already has the gadget? Maybe. Because he’s now out of the country and probably is “living a better life”? Plausible.

Come on, is cussing really necessary? I mean what’s the point with that? Do you even know what you’re talking about? I get it it’s an expression,  but the last time I checked, typical {insert term for fecal matter here} looked something like this:

Seriously though, know your words. I admit I tend to cuss sometimes, but I know it is wrong and I avoid it as much as I could. You may not agree with what I believe in, but please have some professionalism, especially on social networking sites. In other words, respect.

Mr. E then asks who Mr. S is pertaining about when obviously he is the only one really talking and very obviously he was the only one who cussed. Do we really have to point that out? Well, of course Mr. S was talking to himself *facepalm*. And we have all the right to be ‘sarcastic’ when you, in your typical, er, excrement, cannot decipher the palpable.

I’m not only pertaining to those directly involved, but hopefully, to everyone. Just because you are in a ‘higher state’ of living, or maybe living the American Dream, it does not give you the go signal to bear prejudice on the (maybe) less fortunate. Especially to those abroad: do not forget where you came from, where you were born or rooted. No matter where you are, what you look like, or whatever state your life has prospered,  still, you are a Filipino, and you will be one amidst whatever pretension.

Like I said, this isn’t a big deal. However, if you don’t choose your words wisely and if you don’t know where to place your pride, it will be.

3 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: Typical *Bleep*, etc.

  1. Great post. Indeed, you can only choose a handful of people whom you can call both educated and grounded in online forums. Particularly in Facebook; that social networking site is crawling with douche bags.

Leave a Reply

